Rotating Header Image

Past Presidents get a win and a soaking

The Past Presidents won their first game  of 2019 with a 76-52 win away to Huntingdonshire Past Presidents at Holywell-cum-Needingworth BC, which is about 7 miles outside St.Ives. Thankfully, none of the Oxfordshire drivers programmed their Sat Nav to St. Ives in Cornwall.

The weather forecast did not bode well and with the weather getting wetter it was agreed that seventeen ends would be enough. By that time, Oxfordshire had won on four of the five rinks, with Allan Hunt, Bill Jarvie, Keith Buckle and Ian Whelpton being the fifth rink, losing 8-16 in a close game. Barry Willoughby, Terry Gripe, Martin Oliver and Ken Williams took the highest winning rink 20-4.

They were closely challenged by Roy Radband, Andrew French, Chairman Peter Latter and skip Alan Ley who had the same shots difference at fourteen ends but missed out on the last 3, finally winning 19-7.

Paul Demczak, John Timms, David Wedge and Chris Lewis edged their tight game 13-10, whilst Ron Slater, Tony Backer-Holst, John McGeough and Brian Bloomfield achieved their 16-15 win with a single on the last end.

The hot beef casserole after the match was most welcoming and even though they couldn’t organise good weather, the Holywell-cum-Needingworth club were perfect hosts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *