Rotating Header Image

OBA Past Presidents

The Past Presidents recorded a 89-78 in their first game of the season, against Huntingdonshire Past Presidents played at Thame BC.

The warm sunny day was ideal for the rheumatic members of the team and the circling Red Kites gave added impetus to last the 21 ends.

Before the game began, there was a moment of thought for Past President Harold Winstone who had recently passed away.
Top rink of the day was Henry Franklin, John Timms, Allan Hall and Bob Gilkes with a 31-17 scoreline, closely followed by Les Upham, Bill Jarvie. John McGeough and Peter Latter who’s winning difference was only two shots less at 25-13.

Steve Tolhurst, Larry Eltringham, Mike Andrew and Ian Whelpton took the last three ends to win their see-saw game 21-17. The losing rink of Allan Hunt, Tony Backer-Holst, Gordon Hooker and Gordon Roper won nine of the 21 ends but dropped 5 heavy counts, losing 12-31.

Unfortunately the day ended on a sad note with this year’s Chairman Peter Cross announcing the news that the 2000 President Mike Pargeter had also just recently passed away.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *