Rotating Header Image

Summertown Trophy

Summertown Trophy Winners 2015

Banbury Chestnuts were again hosts of the Summertown Trophy final’s day, with 10 qualifying teams from across the County battling it out for the £1,000 prize money – all teams playing each other over 7 ends in a round-robin format.

With 4 games gone it was Carterton B leading the pack with +14 shots, closely followed by 3 sides on +9. After lunch, Watlington B won their next 3 games to climb to +22, with a 7 point gap over 2012 winners Banbury Borough and Banbury Central A. However with just 2 games to go Carterton B had put themselves back in contention with a 9 shot win over Watlington to throw the competition wide open again.

Going into the last round there were still a number of sides still in contention – Carterton B needed their A side to defeat new leaders Banbury Central, plus Watlington and defending champions Headington B were also still hoping for results to go their way. Despite wins for Watlington B and Headington A in their final game, they still fell short of Banbury Central A’s +20 total and the Banbury side claimed 1st prize in the closest ever Summertown Final competition.

Andy Wilkin, Lee Young, Graham Morbey, and Nigel Galletly were winners for Central, leaving Watlington A to claim second prize and the Astall Ley trophy, with Headington B finishing third.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *