Rotating Header Image

Headington B win Summertown Trophy

Summertown Trophy WInners 2014

Last Saturday was the Summertown Trophy final’s day, where the top 10 qualifying teams from across the County battled it out at Banbury Chestnuts for the £700 prize money – all teams playing each other over 7 ends in a round-robin format.

After the first 4 games it was Carterton leading the pack with +19 shots, closely followed by the 2 Headington sides, which included last year’s winners. However after lunch, the defending Champions Headington A struggled to win a game, replaced by the 2012 winners Banbury Borough who climbed above them.

After drawing with leaders Carterton, Headington B managed to win all their remaining games to put themselves in an unbeatable position and undefeated throughout the day. The Headington team made up of Mark Charlett, Jason King, Nathan Lewis, Ian Henwood and John Philpott (on the winning side for the second year running) went on to amass a record +41 shots, 30 ahead of their nearest rivals.

The battle for second and third place saw an exciting climax with the Borough, Carterton and Witney Town all in contention going into the last game and separated by just 3 shots. With Banbury Borough clinching a 5-5 draw against rivals Carterton on the last end, and Witney Town losing their last game by 4 shots, it left Borough to claim second prize and the Astall Ley trophy, with Carterton finishing in third.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *