Rotating Header Image

Summertown Trophy won by Headington

Summertown Trophy 2013

On Sunday 10 qualifying teams from across the County battled it out at Banbury Chestnuts for the Summertown Trophy final’s day, (formerly the Evenlode competition) – all teams playing each other over 7 ends in a round-robin tournament.

Last year’s winners Banbury Borough were given an early set-back losing by 9 shots to West Witney, who got off to a flying start. But by lunchtime it was Headington B who were narrowly ahead with Headington A, Carterton A, and West Witney still very much in contention.

In the afternoon it looked most likely that the trophy would be heading to west Oxfordshire as, with just 2 games to go West Witney had surged ahead to +33 shots, Carterton A were on +22, and Headington B on +20.

However, Thame were to have a big say in the final result as they first beat the Witney four by 5 shots, before being emphatically beaten 17-0 by a resurgent Headington B.

The Headington side of Ian Snowden, Shaun Claridge, Paul Mabbutt, Dean May, and John Philpott ended up taking the Summertown Trophy title by +39 shots. West Witney finished runners-up and winners of the Astall Ley trophy, whilst Carterton A held on to third.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *