Rotating Header Image

August 24th, 2015:

Hawker Cup Finals Day: Victory for Headington A

Hawker Cup winners 2015

The all-Headington final between Headington ‘A’ and Headington ‘C’ brought this years Hawker Cup to a close at the Oxford City & County club with victory going to the ‘A’ team, 45-22.
With the weather forecast suggesting the possibility of heavy showers, localised flooding, hailstones etc, it was good of the competition organisers to arrange for the sun to shine for most of the day and for the one and only rain shower of any significance to happen during the lunchtime break.
Bernie May, Ian Kibble-White, Paul Mabbutt and Ian Snowdon, playing against the ‘C’ rink of David Taylor, John Nicholls, Nathan Lewis and Jason King won the match for the ‘A’ team with a comfortable 28-6 win. From 5-all after eight ends, Snowdon’s four collected fourteen unanswered shots for a commanding lead. After conceding a single to their opponents on the fourteenth end, a further nine shots over three ends brought the match to a close at 17 ends.
Dean May, Alan Manger, Gary May and Howard Watts the ‘A’ team’s other rink, had a much closer encounter in their game against Jon Philpott, Norman Rae, Colin Whitehead and Nick Rae-Welsh before the game ended 17-16 in their favour.

The morning semi-final between Headington ‘A’ and Witney Mills saw Watts’ four win 28-13 against Roy Bull, Arthur Howard, Pete Wilson and John Mott, while Ian Snowdon’s rink recorded a 23-9 success against Mike Miles, Nick Andrew, Charlie Fisher and Chris Weller. Headington ‘C’ made their way into the final by beating Watlington 45-27. The Nick Rae-Welsh foursome led the way with a 23-8 win against Vic Webb, Les Westcott, Gordon Hooker and Bob Gilkes, whilst Watlington other rink of Sam Watts, Adie Twinn, Chris Gilkes and Shane Cooper saw their early dominance overcome by King’s four who went on to win 22-19.

The play-off for 3rd & 4th place produced a much closer contest than the Final, with Watlington coming out 43-33 winners over the Witney Mills team. Both Watlington rinks produced a 5 shot win, Bob Gilkes 21-16 against John Mott and Shane Cooper 22-17 against Chris Weller.

Wendy Sandy wins ladies unbadged singles

Gwen Steel Unbadged Singles Winner 2015

The Gwen Steele Unbadged Singles was contested by 11 players, played at City and County on Saturday 22 August 2015.

It was very good bowling in rather hot conditions with Wendy Sandy of Carterton, last year’s runner up, taking the winner’s trophy after a close fought final against Sue Stewart of South Oxford.

Quarter finals:
Janet Fountain (Banbury Borough) 12, Eloise Jones (Banbury Central) 14;
Wendy Sandy (Carterton) 14, Josie Gilbert (Oxford City and County) 1;
Sue Stewart (South Oxford) 11, Karen Galloway (Oxford City and County) 7;
Lettie Batten (South) 3, Wendy Buss (Shiplake) 16.

Semi finals:
Eloise Jones 10, Wendy Sandy 11;
Sue Stewart 16, Wendy Buss 9.

Wendy Sandy 16, Sue Stewart 12.

Oxon ladies lose to Hants

Bowls Oxfordshire ladies lost to Hampshire on a wet afternoon at Whitchurch BC with a dismal result of a 40 shot loss.
Due to the weather conditions played over 18 ends.

Carol Gaskins 12, B Muncey 16
Jeanette Berry 8, D Burbage 22
Wendy Cross 12, K Woodgate 23
Sylvia Rogers 17, P Lambshead 25
Pat Ostler 15, B Plumpton 18
Carol Penson 13, L Hayward 13

Men’s Selection 29th August – 15th September

The men’s selection for games between 29th August – 15th September is now available on the Bowls Oxfordshire website: Selection No 6