Rotating Header Image


Ladies pairs qtr and semi finals on Saturday

Oxon ladies pairs quarter and semi finals will be played at Thame BC on Saturday 21st July starting at 10am (players report by 9:30am in whites/club shirts and club stickers). Refreshments will be available.

Katherine Hawes (Oxford City and County) v Sue Waring (Banbury Central)
Daphne Jacob (Shiplake) v Renee Lloyd (Bicester)
Pam Shepherd (Banbury Central) v Caroline Campion (Banbury Central)
Emma Gilkes (Watlington) v Caroline Bloomfield (Witney Town)

Oxon ladies played Berks and Surrey in county games

Oxon ladies travelled to Wantage BC to play Berkshire on Friday 13th July with a disappointing loss by two shots.

BOL 103, Berkshire 105

Jeanette Berry 27, H Simpson 15
Carole Thornhill 27, S Goodchild 17
Daphne Jacob 17, A Wheeler 18
Angela Ives 19, S Harrison 33
Maureen Osborne 13, A Ward 22

On Tuesday 17th July Oxon ladies took a coach trip to Chertsey BC and had a very good result against Surrey with a win by 43 shots.

BOl 126, Surrey 83

Wendy Cross 17, P Bourne 13
Sylvia Blackmore 17, D Double 14
CaroleThornhill 18, S Maylin 15
Jeanette Berry 23, J Barnett 13
Carol Penson 20, C McGrail 14
Pat Ostler 31, V Hobart 14

Ladies senior fours won by Banbury Borough team

The winners of the Senior Fours is the team from Banbury Borough: Margaret Morris, Janet Fountain, Erica Brown and Angela Ives. They will represent Oxfordshire at Leamington in the Nationals, beginning their challenge on Wednesday 22nd August.

Played at Banbury Chestnuts on a very hot afternoon Borough put on the pressure with a four on the first end and kept ahead leading by eight shots until the 18th end when they dropped a five with Central behind by 3 shots with three ends to play. But Borough rallied with a two and a four over the next two ends leaving Central conceding the match with 9 shots adrift and just one end to play.

A hard fought match in very hot conditions: Banbury Borough 25, Banbury Central 16.

Oxon ladies beat Bucks in friendly

A very hot Monday afternoon in a quiet, charming setting with lovely gardens at Woburn Sands BC opened just four years ago.

A win for BOL with 128 shots against Buckinghamshire’s 92.

Carol Penson 16, L Throup 21
Jeanette Berry 19, C Clark 16
Carole Thornhill 19, L Hewins 20
Wendy Cross 21, T Keen 13
Caroline Bloomfield 25, I Skerry 14
Daphne Jacob 28, B Brown 8

Campion and Galloway qualify for national singles

Caroline Campion (Banbury Central) and Karen Galloway (Oxford City & County) have qualified for the national singles championships held at Leamington Spa in August.

The singles was played at Witney Town BC on Sunday 1st July.

Quarter Finals
Caroline Campion (Banbury Central) 21, Margaret Morris (Banbury Borough) 2
Donna Knight (Oxford City & County) 19, Katherine Hawes (Oxford City & County) 21
Carol Penson (Oxford City & County) 21, Jazzmin Alder (West Witney) 14
Liz Kemish (Watlington) 14, Karen Galloway (Oxford City & County) 21

Semi Finals
Caroline Campion 21, Katherine Hawes 5
Carol Penson 15, Karen Galloway 21

Emma Gilkes through to U25 singles semi finals

The first of the under 25 ladies singles was played at Witney Town BC on Sunday 1st July. Emma Gilkes defeated Katie Glenn by 3 shots. The other quarter final couldn’t be completed as Jazz Alder was playing in the ladies singles quarter finals. Zoe Pratley is in the final after receiving a walk over.

Quarter Finals:

Emma Gilkes (Watlington BC) 21, Katie Glenn (Watlington) 18
Emma Gilkes will play the winner of Emma Dickson (Watlington) v Jazzmin Alder (West Witney) (date to be arranged)

Banbury Central teams qualify in ladies triples

Mary Tee, Pam Shepherd and Sue Waring and Carole Galletly, Helen Young and Caroline Campion all from Banbury Central, qualified for the National triples championships held at Leamington Spa in August.

Waring’s triple defeated two Oxford City and County teams comfortably to qualify. Firstly Jeanette Berry’s trio from Oxford City and County and then Carol Gaskin’s team. Meanwhile Campion’s triple faced closer games beating Maggie Alderson’s team by 5 and then Katherine Hawes’ triple by 6.


Quarter Finals:
J Berry 11, S Waring 20; R Copp (Shiplake) 9, C Gaskins 20; C Briant (Charlbury) 18, K Hawes 22; M Adlerson 13, C Campion 18.

Semi Finals:
S Waring 20, C Gaskins 7; K Hawes 12, C Campion 18.

Oxon ladies draw with Beds in friendly

Bowls Oxfordshire ladies took just four rinks to Dunstable Town BC and because of the very warm day the match, played on a challenging green, was ended with a draw after 18 ends.

BOL 77, Bedfordshire 77

Carol Penson 17, P Dobson 20
Pauline Williams, 19, P Bright 24
Carole Thornhill 15, C Hills 19
Jeanette Berry 26, S Mumford 14

Johns Trophy game cancelled

The last round of the Johns Trophy v Berkshire has been cancelled.

It has been mutually agreed with Berkshire and approved by Bowls England that the last round of the Johns Trophy v Berkshire on Saturday 7th July need not be played as any result would not enhance our position in the table to put any pressure on Kent at the top.

Ladies senior fours final

The ladies senior fours final will be held at Banbury Chestnuts BC on Thursday 5th July at 2pm.

Mo Cox, Banbury Central BC v Angela Ives, Banbury Borough BC