Rotating Header Image


Oxon ladies at Leamington

The schedule for the Oxfordsire ladies at Leamington is listed below.

Please note: Times and Greens as at time of print. Subject to changes on the day.

Bowls England have switched Singles, 2Wood Singles and Pairs, Oxon A to B to avoid clashes in competitions.

Week 1

Under 25 singles
Oxon A Emma Gilkes Sunday 5th August 9.30am on Green B.
Oxon B Zoe Pratley Sunday 5th August 11.30am on Green C.

Senior pairs
Jan Gore/Caroline Bloomfield Sunday 5th August 2pm on Green D.

Oxon A J Berry Mon 6th Aug 2pm on Green B.
Oxon B C Campion Tues 7th Aug 9.30am on Green B.

Champion of champions
Katherine Hawes Wed 8th Aug 10.30am on Green C.

Oxon A K Galloway Thurs 9th Aug 2pm on Green B.
Oxon B C Campion Fri 10th Aug 9.30am on Green A.

Senior singles
Carol Gaskins Sat 11th Aug 9.30am on Green B.

Week 2

Oxon A S Waring Mon 13th Aug 9.30am on Green E.
Oxon B C Campion Sun 12th Aug 2pm on Green C.

2 Wood singles
Oxon A K Hawes Tues 14th Aug 2pm on Green D.
Oxon B C Galletly Tues 14th Aug 3.30pm on Green E.

Oxon A C Campion Thurs 16th Aug 9.30am on Green D.
Oxon B K Hawes Wed 15th Aug 2pm on Green B.

Under 25 pairs
Claire Soden/Jazzmin Alder Sat 18th Aug 1pm on Green E.

Week 3

Senior fours
Margaret Morris/Janet Fountain/Erica Brown/Angela Ives Wed 22nd Aug 9.30am on Green D.

Amy Rose (Under 31s double rink)
Leicestershire v Oxfordshire Sat 1st Sept 11.30am on Green D.

Ladies senior fours won by Banbury Borough team

The winners of the Senior Fours is the team from Banbury Borough: Margaret Morris, Janet Fountain, Erica Brown and Angela Ives. They will represent Oxfordshire at Leamington in the Nationals, beginning their challenge on Wednesday 22nd August.

Played at Banbury Chestnuts on a very hot afternoon Borough put on the pressure with a four on the first end and kept ahead leading by eight shots until the 18th end when they dropped a five with Central behind by 3 shots with three ends to play. But Borough rallied with a two and a four over the next two ends leaving Central conceding the match with 9 shots adrift and just one end to play.

A hard fought match in very hot conditions: Banbury Borough 25, Banbury Central 16.

Johns Trophy game cancelled

The last round of the Johns Trophy v Berkshire has been cancelled.

It has been mutually agreed with Berkshire and approved by Bowls England that the last round of the Johns Trophy v Berkshire on Saturday 7th July need not be played as any result would not enhance our position in the table to put any pressure on Kent at the top.

Oxon ladies lose to Kent in Johns Trophy

Bowls Oxfordshire Ladies lost to Kent in the Johns Trophy played at Thame Bowls Club on Saturday 23rd July. Oxon only had 2 winning rinks skipped by Jeanette Berry and Carol Penson. With 2 defeats it is highly unlikely Oxon will progress but with new additions to the team, Oxon could able to build for the future.

Oxon 97 4 pts, Kent 132 18 pts.

P Ostler 19, E Simpson 20
K Alder 8, J Cogle 28
D Knight 4, A Banes 32
W Cross 18, J Parker 23
C Penson 19, J Banes 18
J Berry 29, A Harrison 11

Oxon lose to Sussex in Balcomb Regional Finals

Oxfordshire left at the crack of dawn to play Sussex in the southern Regional Finals at Bromley Kent on Sunday 24th June.

With Mark Charlett’s rink finishing 3 ends earlier than Nick Rae-Welsh, it was up to Nick and co to save the match. Playing the 21st end the counties were level and holding shot with only the skips to bowl, The Sussex skip moved the jack back to hold 3 and nick was unable to find a way through to save the match.

Oxfordshire 32, Sussex 35.

Sam Watts Ray Gaskins Ian Henwood Nick Rae-Welsh won 19-14.
Paul Sharman Nathan Lewis A J Docherty Mark Charlett lost 13-21.

Sussex went on to defeat Kent 42-25.

Oxon draw with Surrey in Middleton cup

All Square at the end.

Oxfordshire played their third game of the 2018 Middleton Cup campaign with a home match against Surrey on Saturday 22rd June at Oxford City and County BC. The game swung one way and then the other with Oxfordshire again preferring the southern rinks, particularly the rink of Mark Charlett, who stormed to a 13 shot lead after 10 ends.

With comfortable wins on rinks 1 and 2 for Charlett and Gaskins, the battle on rink 3 was always the closest with Baden Sparkes finally losing by a single shot. Rinks 4 and 5 went Surrey’s way and the overall result depended on the last end on rink 6. With Oxfordshire trailing by one shot and Surrey holding it was left to Nick Rae-Welsh to Trail the jack for a one shot and to tie the match at 121 shots.

The final Saturday of the competition, July 7th, sees Oxfordshire travelling to Berkshire and Suttons BC for a 2pm start.

Oxfordshire 121 shots 93 points, Surrey 121 shots 13 points.

Sam Watts Paul Skidmore Jason King Mark Charlett won 33-14.
Steve Witcombe Will Campion Shane Cooper Ray Gaskins won 22-16.
Alan Carter Kevin Alder Gary May Baden Sparkes lost 21-23.
Ade Kemish David Leighfield A J Docherty Ian Snowdon lost 19-26.
Jim Bland Steve Aldren Nathan Lewis Paul Sharman lost 14-22.
Bradley Squires Paul Comley Ian Henwood Nick Rae-Welsh lost 11-20.

Johns Trophy v Kent

The next round of the Johns Trophy is on Saturday 23rd June v Kent at Thame BC. Team selected: Johns Trophy v Kent

Balcomb trophy regional finals

The Balcomb trophy regional finals will be played on Sunday 24th June 10am at Bromley BC v Sussex. The team has been selected: Balcomb regional finals

White Rose 2x4s Regional Semi Final

The White Rose 2x4s Regional Semi Final will be played on Sunday 17th June 10.00am at Sutton BC. The team has been selected: U25’s v Surrey

Hawes and Galletly qualify for ladies 2 wood singles

Katherine Hawes (Oxford City & County) and Carole Galletly (Banbury Central) have qualified for the Bowls England ladies two wood singles held at Leamington Spa in August.

Quarter finals: T Batt Rawden 14, C Gaskins 10; C Galletly 17, C Bloomfield 10; D knight 15, J Berry 4; C Penson 11, K Hawes 16.
Semi Finals: T Batt Rawden 9, C Galletly 16; D Knight 8, K Hawes 17.